2018-10-10 / Academics

Governor Announces Selection of New York State Master Teachers

Delaware County Claims 8

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo has announced the selection of 275 educators from across the state to join the New York State Master Teacher Program. One third of the new master teachers announced are elementary teachers, expanding the network of outstanding teacher-leaders to include K-12 STEM educators. These educators will join the network of master teachers created in 2013, bringing the total number to 980.

The incoming group includes 40 teachers with multiple teaching certifications, 10 teachers certified in special education and/or students with disabilities, and 14 teachers certified in technology education who are offering various courses in computer science and technology. Thirty percent of this cohort are teaching in high needs school districts, including the Syracuse, Rochester, Albany, Binghamton, and Buffalo City School Districts.

The selected master teachers have been teaching an average of 15 years. Over 76 percent have been in the classroom for ten or more years, and 22 percent have been teaching for more than 20 years; the 275 master teachers represent 160 school districts.All master teachers are active beyond their classrooms, serving as curriculum department leaders or on district and state-level committees. They are also sponsors of Science Olympiad competitions, school gardens, robotics teams, Coding Clubs, community service organizations as well as coaches, and PTA members. The Master Teachers hold leadership roles in New York State STEM professional associations, and many have received awards and public recognition for their teaching from their peers and communities.

In nine regions across the state, the Master Teacher Program is hosted at a SUNY campus to leverage the expertise of the university’s faculty and existing educator preparation programs.

Throughout their four-year participation in the program, master teachers receive a $15,000 stipend annually; engage in peer mentoring and intensive contentoriented professional development opportunities throughout the academic year; work closely with pre-service and early career teachers to foster a supportive environment for the next generation of STEM teachers; and attend required regional cohort meetings, participate in and lead several professional development sessions each year.

Governor Cuomo also announced the opening of the next round of applications for K-12 STEM teachers in all regions. K-12 STEM teachers are asked to review the eligibility requirements at Eligible Computer Science teachers in all grades—are encouraged to apply. The deadline for applications is Feb. 23, 2019. Additional information about the application requirements and process is available at

Newly selected Master Teachers in Delaware County are: Jeffery Feyerabend, Deposit Central School District; Denise Johnston, Roxbury School District; Bryan Neubert, Sidney School District; Michelle Riter, Deposit Central School District; Danielle Schmider Dorsey, Charlotte Valley Central School District; Jeanine Scinta-Sass, Stamford School District; Neil Snedeker, Roxbury School District; Richard Townsend, Master Teacher Emeritus, Sidney School District.

Return to top